2011 SA Derby Final Field – Morphettville Racing

May 4th, 2011

The final field for the Group 1 SA Derby has been released ahead of the race that will run this Sunday May 8, 2011.

The 2011 SA Derby is a set-weights race open to three-year-old horses only and is worth $350,000 in prize money.

Run over a distance of 2,500 metres, the 2011 SA Derby will run as Race 6 at 3.17pm at Morphettville Racecourse this Sunday.

17 horses have accepted for the 16 entry capacity horse racing field, including current favourite Right Of Refusal.

Right Of Refusal is currently the $3.70 favourite to win the 2011 SA Derby at Luxbet.

The three-year-old gelding has not finished worse than second in his last four races and won his last start in the Listed VRC St. Leger at Flemington Racecourse on April 25, 2011.

The Refuse To Bend gelding has already won more than $171,000 during his career and has won three of his ten race starts.

Right Of Refusal will be ridden by jockey Michael Walker in the 2011 SA Derby and will jump from barrier seven.

Also included in the 2011 SA Derby acceptances is Peter Snowden’s Backgammon, who is paying odds of $5.50 to win at Luxbet.

Backgammon finished second by half a head to Kittens in the Group 3 Chairman’s Tattsbet Stakes last starts and has placed in both of his attempts at Stakes level this preparation.

The three-year-old Domesday gelding has won over $186,000 in prize money and has won two of his 12 career starts.

Backgammon will jump from gate three in the 2011 SA Derby and will be ridden by jockey Mark Zahra.

Kittens has also accepted for the 2011 SA Derby, drawing the wide barrier of 16 for the race.

Kittens, who beat Backgammon to win the recent Chairman’s Tattsbet Stakes, will be looking to regain her Spring carnival form that saw her finish fourth against some of the best company in the Group 1 Crown Oaks.

The Redoute’s Choice filly will face off against the boys in the 2011 SA Derby and is currently paying odds of $8 to win the race at Luxbet.

Also included in the 2011 SA Derby final field is Anthony Cummings’ Shadows In The Sun, John Thompson’s Jeter and Mick Price’s Echoes Of Heaven.

Make sure you open an account with our most trusted online bookmaker Luxbet today in time for this Sunday’s SA Derby at Morphettville.

Luxbet are offering all new customers a brilliant BONUS BET OFFER if you  sign up today.

Just enter the promo code BONUSBET and deposit between $25 and $400 into your new account and Luxbet will give you a bonus bet worth 100% of your initial stakes.

Did you know that Luxbet is owned by TABCORP? So you can receive their “Best of the Best” odds while betting in a safe and trusted environment.

So sign up and start winning today!

2011 SA Derby Final Field

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 X8741X6032 BACKGAMMON Peter Snowden Mark Zahra 3 56.5kg 80
2 71X3852121 RIGHT OF REFUSAL Nigel Blackiston Michael Walker 7 56.5kg 82
3 419X805436 SHADOWS IN THE SUN Anthony Cummings Ben Melham 11 56.5kg 82
4 5535X41625 CONDELAGO Mick Huxtable Chad Lever 1 56.5kg 84
5 X1X45X1413 ECHOES OF HEAVEN Mick Price Craig Newitt 8 56.5kg 87
6 11X7112X48 HEEZ BORN LUCKY (NZ) Leigh Childs Rhys McLeod 12 56.5kg 75
7 71X8013107 RIALYA Lloyd Kennewell Shayne Cahill 2 56.5kg 72
8 25X51123 WEIGHTED Robert Hickmott Corey Brown 15 56.5kg 67
9 X1321X5086 BERTUCCI Lloyd Kennewell Zac Purton 6 56.5kg 70
10 423X16331 STRATOCRACY Michael Moroney Ms Lisa Cropp 17 56.5kg 66
11 0X22211 SKY RAIDER Tony McEvoy Simon Price 4 56.5kg 68
12 38X3514 INTEGRATION (NZ) Robert Hickmott Steven King 5 56.5kg 62
13 0048X84510 PRECIOUS LORRAINE David Hayes Dwayne Dunn 13 54.5kg 84
14 63184X7001 KITTENS Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd 16 54.5kg 72
15 111X474444 JETER John P Thompson Paul Gatt 14 54.5kg 82
16 410X510022 LALLA ROOKH Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Ms Clare Lindop 9 54.5kg 74
17e 06X6532 HANDSOME AS Roslyn Day Adrian Patterson 10 56.5kg 57