2012 South Australian Derby – Final Field & Barrier Draw

May 1st, 2012

The final field and barrier draw has been released for the South Australian Derby, which is due to run at Morphettville Racecourse this Saturday May 5, 2012.

Included in the 2012 South Australian Derby final field is Reign Of Terror.

Reign Of Terror has won one of his 10 race starts and has earned more than $47,000 in prize money.

The More Than Ready gelding finished 11th in his most recent start in the Group 2 WATC Derby after finishing second in the Listed Melvista Stakes in his previous start.

Trainer Neville Parnham was initially concerned the gelding may not make the 2012 South Australian Derby field.

“He was about 19th in the order of entry before the weekend and with the attrition rate I’m pretty confident he’ll get a run,” Parnham said.

“I also entered him in the Guineas but he hasn’t been prepared for a 1600m race.”

Parnham is confident Reign Of Terror will be a completely different horse compared to how he performed last start after having three weeks in between runs.

“He didn’t have much hope and it wasn’t a fair indication of where he could have run,” Parnham said.

“Barrier one was probably too good a draw as he’s a big horse.

“I actually thought he would drop out quite badly but he did his best work late and hit the line well.”

Reign Of Terror has drawn barrier 12 for the 2012 South Australian Derby and will be ridden by jockey Steven Parnham.

bookmaker.com.au is your one stop shop for all the best odds on all the best online horse racing betting Australia-wide.

Make sure you open a bookmaker.com.au account in time for the 2012 South Australian Derby and you could be receiving a bonus bet worth up to $300.

Just enter the promo code BONUSBET when you join and you will be rewarded with a bonus bet valued at 100% of your initial deposit when you bank between $25 and $300 into your new account.

So sign up today and start receiving bookmaker.com.au’s great odds now!

2012 South Australian Derby Final Field & Barrier Draw

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 2315X52754 STRIKE THE STARS (NZ) Anthony Cummings Dwayne Dunn 3 56.5kg 95
2 4313X86400 SABRAGE Michael Moroney Luke Currie 20 56.5kg 92
3 2454X64151 ZABEELIONAIRE (NZ) Leon Corstens Damien Oliver 1 56.5kg 82
4 125920X113 CORNELL Anthony Freedman Kerrin McEvoy 8 56.5kg 83
5 14X1X7111 PELICANO Tony McEvoy Matthew Neilson 15 56.5kg 89
6 X5221X8882 ALCOHOL Richard Jolly Paul Gatt 5 56.5kg 70
7 00X211714 BACKBONE Michael Kent Brad Rawiller 7 56.5kg 74
8 82X421X901 HEAVEN’S RICHES Robbie Laing Michael Walker 10 56.5kg 87
9 6524X12715 LETHAL JONES Lou Luciani & Dion Luciani Jason Whiting 2 56.5kg 73
10 X10712X064 WESTSOUTHWEST (NZ) Robert Smerdon Mark Zahra 19 56.5kg 68
11 3189X39920 REIGN OF TERROR Neville Parnham Steven Parnham 12 56.5kg 68
12 1709X10060 NICONOISE David Hayes 11 56.5kg 67
13 6X6X1662 PRACTICED Robert Hickmott Steven Arnold 18 56.5kg 66
14 1214X8030 BANNER Matt Laurie 14 56.5kg 67
15 1824X07524 HAROLDHAUT Terry & Karina O’Sullivan Joe Bowditch 9 56.5kg 64
16 4X21253563 ESSENCE Phillip Stokes Ms Clare Lindop 13 54.5kg 70
17e 23X211 TOHUNGA (NZ) Gai Waterhouse Tommy Berry 4 56.5kg 71
18e 21X09790 SOUTHERN INVASION Margaret Ruberry 17 56.5kg 62
19e 23528X2226 ROCK MUSICIAN Robbie Laing 6 56.5kg 61
20e 41X7917220 COMPELLED (NZ) Eric Musgrove Dom Tourneur 16 56.5kg 61