2014 South Australian Derby Nominations Released

April 28th, 2014

A talented field of 41 has been nominated for an appearance in this weekend’s featured Group 1 South Australian Derby (2500m) at Morphettville Racecourse, including several noted performers over the 2014 autumn.

Order Of The Sun has been nominated for an appearance in the 2014 South Australian Derby

Order Of The Sun has been nominated for an appearance in the 2014 South Australian Derby. Photo: Steve Hart

Resounding winner of the Listed VRC St Leger last time out, trainer Gai Waterhouse has nominated Order Of The Sun for an appearance in the 2014 South Australian Derby.

Amassing an impressive record of four wins and a place from only nine competitive starts to date, Order Of The Sun won the Klink Maiden (1600m) first-up on February 8th, and while unable to overcome early checks in both the Group 1 Chipping Norton Stakes (1600m) and Group 1 Rosehill Guineas (2000m), produced a strong turn of foot to finish eighth amongst classy company in the Group 2 Nathan Berry Tulloch Stakes (2000m) prior to his seven length St Leger triumph.

Likely to return to the paddock following the SA Derby, Waterhouse is confident the Encosta De Lago colt is the one to beat this weekend, particularly if allocated a favourable barrier.

Also included in nominations for the 2014 South Australian Derby is classy three-year-old Scratchy Bottom.

Claiming two wins and one place from only six race starts so far, Scratchy Bottom quickly stamped her claims as one to watch when debuting with a near-four length victory in the World Class Locally Plate (1533m) in October last year before placing fourth in the particularly well contested Group 2 Don’t Hold Back Classic (1600m).

Winner of the Robert Hunter Fillies Maiden (1400m) first-up this season, the Sebring filly was unlucky to finish just outside the places when blocked for a run in the Group 3 The Vanity (1400m), but quickly returned to competitive form when fifth in the Group 2 Alister Clark Stakes (2040m) and third in the Group 1 Australasian Oaks (2000m) in arguably her most impressive performance to date last weekend.

Trainer Peter Moody is set to dominate the final field for the 2014 South Australian Derby, having nominated no fewer than eight of his stable’s runners, including Akagera, Cadillac Mountain and Surge Ahead.

Despite being unable to figure when fourteenth in the Australasian Oaks last time out, Akagera has returned to the track in good condition this time in, finishing third in a minor over 1400 metres first-up and fourth in both the Sportingbet Best Tote Maiden (1800m) and Procon Developments Handicap (2025m).

Securing two wins and two places from only eight race starts, Cadillac Mountain was unlucky to finish second in the Alister Clark Stakes on March 14th, and managed to overcome obstacles to finish mid pack in both the Rosehill Guineas and Group 1 Australian Derby (2400m) most recently.

Impressive when claiming three wins from four starts including the Listed Connoisseur Stakes (1800m) in his maiden preparation last spring, Surge Ahead is yet to hit peak condition over five starts this time in, but has reportedly taken to work well since his most recent appearance in the Australian Derby.

A final field of 16 plus four emergencies for the 2014 South Australian Derby is due to be released on Wednesday morning.

Ladbrokes.com.au is currently offering the best early odds on all Morphettville races this weekend, including the Group 1 South Australian Derby!

Open an account and deposit at Ladbrokes.com.au today to claim a bonus bet of up to $250 in time for the SA Derby!

2014 SA Derby Nominations

# Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 AKAGERA Peter G Moody 62
2 ALWAYS LUCKY (NZ) Lee & Shannon Hope 59
3 BEST CASE (NZ) Anthony Cummings 87
7 CREANCE John MacMillan 66
8 CRIME FIGHTER Peter G Moody 72
9 DE LITTLE ENGINE Danny O’Brien 68
10 EVERY FAITH Robert Smerdon 76
11 EXALTED TOBY Karen Byrnes 59
12 EXCITES ZELADY Chris Bieg 82
13 FAMILY PRIDE (NZ) Murray Johnson 65
14 GAMBLIN’ GURU Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas 90
15 GRAVITATIONAL Danny O’Brien 65
16 HONEY STEEL’S GOLD David Hayes 73
17 IN MASQUERADE (NZ) Peter G Moody 72
18 KINCAPLE CHIEF (NZ) David Hayes 63
19 KUSHADASI Richard Jolly 85
20 LADS ON FIRE Daniel Halliday 60
21 LADY TATIA Peter G Moody 66
22 LORD ATHENAEUM (NZ) Stuart Webb 61
23 MAJESTIC MOMENT Richard Jolly 68
24 MAJORLY Gerald Ryan 66
25 MEADOWS ANGEL Karen Byrnes 68
26 MEGAMIND Robbie Griffiths 61
27 MORE REWARDING Mick Price 67
28 MOUNTAIN JACK (NZ) Robyn & Russell Rogers 68
29 ORDER OF THE SUN Gai Waterhouse 83
30 PERFECT COMPANY Greg Eurell 61
31 QUAYSIDE Peter G Moody 71
32 REDNAV Greg Eurell 62
33 ROBOCOP Shane Oxlade 54
34 SCRATCHY BOTTOM Michael Kent 74
35 SECRET METEOR Leon Corstens 62
36 SOUTHERN METEOR Peter G Moody 60
37 STELLARIZED Peter G Moody 61
38 SURGE AHEAD Anthony Cummings 78
39 SURGING WAVE David Hayes 66
40 SYNTHETIC (NZ) Robert Smerdon 68
41 THE TERRICKS Robbie Griffiths 62
42 THROW THE KING John Sadler 70
43 TSITSIKAMMA John MacMillan 61
44 VALTARI David Hayes 50
45 WHISTLE STOP Terry Kelly 61
46 WORD OF MOUTH Leon Corstens 61