2014 South Australian Derby Final Field Confirmed

April 29th, 2014

A talented full field of 16 plus three emergencies has been confirmed for this weekend’s featured Group 1 South Australian Derby (2500m) at Morphettville Racecourse, highlighted by a number of in-form Australian stayers.

Order Of The Sun has been confirmed in the final field for the 2014 South Australian Derby

Order Of The Sun has been confirmed in the final field for the 2014 South Australian Derby. Photo: Steve Hart

Hitting peak condition when strolling home to win the Listed VRC St Leger (2800m) by more than seven lengths last time out, talented three-year-old Order Of The Sun has been confirmed for a tilt at the 2014 South Australian Derby.

Contesting an impressive career of four wins and one place from only nine race starts to date, Order Of The Sun was arguably the biggest winner at Tuesday’s SA Derby barrier draw, having been allocated the ideal gate 4.

One unable to figure in either of the Group 1 Chipping Norton Stakes (1600m) or Group 1 Rosehill Guineas (2000m) in either of his two appearances at the highest level of Australian racing this year, trainer Gai Waterhouse is confident her runner is the one to beat in the 2014 SA Derby, and gained a further boost when in-form jockey Vlad Duric was confirmed to take the ride.

Also included in the final field for the 2014 SA Derby is talented locally trained gelding Gamblin’ Guru.

Winning four of 14 starts and placing in a further five, Gamblin’ Guru’s chances of securing trainer Leon Macdonald a second Group 1 title in as many weeks took a huge blow when allocated the wide and awkward barrier 19 for the 2014 SA Derby.

A standout performer of South Australian racing this season, Gamblin’ Guru has finished outside the places just once in five completed races so far and has without doubt hit ideal condition in claiming his two most recent starts.

Macdonald, who saddled talented two-year-old Go Indy Go to success in the Champagne Stakes at Randwick last weekend, was not at Morphettville when Gamblin’ Guru held on for a nail-biting victory in the Group 3 Chairman’s Stakes (2000m), but has revealed he is confident in the chances of the New Approach gelding this weekend with regular jockey Jason Holder on board.

Also aiming to secure a third consecutive victory in the 2014 SA Derby, Bring Something offers trainer Ken Keys perhaps his best chance of securing a maiden Group 1 title, but will have to overcome barrier 14 if to do so this weekend.

Confirmed to be partnered by talented jockey Mark Zahra, Bring Something will pose a legitimate threat if in clear position rounding onto the final straight.

Figuring as trainer Michael Kent’s sole entrant in the 2014 SA Derby, Scratchy Bottom is offered great chance of continue her strong career start this weekend from the ideal inside barrier.

Securing two wins and a place from only six appearances so far, Scratchy Bottom has steadily built to the task this time in, winning the minor event over 1400 metres first-up before finishing fourth in the Group 1 The Vanity (1400m) on February 15th.

Overcoming poor position to run on for fifth amongst classy company in the Group 2 Alister Clark Stakes (2040m) on March 14th, the Sebring filly was arguably most impressive when producing a strong sprint to finish third in the Group 1 Australasian Oaks (2000m) at Morphettville last weekend, and will likely respond favourably to the increase in distance on Saturday.

Ladbrokes.com.au is currently the best odds on the 2014 South Australian Derby!

Open an account and sign up for the all-new Ladbrokes Card to take advantage of your winnings just seconds after your pick has passed the post!

2014 South Australian Derby Final Field and Barrier Draw

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 221x52F211 GAMBLIN’ GURU Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Jason Holder 19 56.5kg 90
2 24144×1538 BEST CASE (NZ) Anthony Cummings Damien Oliver 7 56.5kg 87
3 211×291124 KUSHADASI Richard Jolly Steven Arnold 3 56.5kg 85
4 1136×17081 ORDER OF THE SUN Gai Waterhouse Vlad Duric 4 56.5kg 83
5 79512×5262 EXCITES ZELADY Chris Bieg Amy Herrmann 17 56.5kg 82
6 1151×76370 SURGE AHEAD Anthony Cummings Chris Symons 10 56.5kg 78
7 048×817632 HONEY STEEL’S GOLD David Hayes Matthew Neilson 12 56.5kg 73
8 2457×65811 BRING SOMETHING Ken Keys Mark Zahra 14 56.5kg 72
9 x0170x6110 CRIME FIGHTER Peter G Moody Shayne Cahill 9 56.5kg 72
10 63421×3411 MAJESTIC MOMENT Richard Jolly Joe Bowditch 5 56.5kg 68
11 x5x2317314 MORE REWARDING Mick Price Dean Yendall 2 56.5kg 67
12 14579×9610 SURGING WAVE David Hayes Michael Walker 15 56.5kg 66
13 419747×623 GRAVITATIONAL Danny O’Brien James Winks 8 56.5kg 65
14 0x3161230 FAMILY PRIDE (NZ) Murray Johnson Cory Parish 18 56.5kg 65
15 455×52235 REDNAV Greg Eurell Simon Price 13 56.5kg 62
16 14×1453 SCRATCHY BOTTOM Michael Kent Dom Tourneur 1 54.5kg 74
17e 9×56123506 LORD ATHENAEUM (NZ) Stuart Webb 6 56.5kg 61
18e 9402×3201 WORD OF MOUTH Leon Corstens 11 56.5kg 61
19e 01×054 STELLARIZED Peter G Moody 16 56.5kg 61