2015 SA Derby Final Field and Barrier Draw

May 5th, 2015

A talented and capacity field of 16 three-year-olds plus four emergencies has been included in the final field for Saturday’s featured Group 1 South Australian Derby (2500m) at Morphettville; highlighted by the pending appearances of several of the Autumn Carnival’s standout performers.

Group 1 winner Delicacy has been confirmed in the 2015 SA Derby final field. Photo: Jenny Barnes

Group 1 winner Delicacy has been confirmed in the 2015 SA Derby final field. Photo: Jenny Barnes

Perth raider Delicacy charged home to post a maiden victory at the highest level in last weekend’s Group 1 Australasian Oaks (2000m) and has been included in 2014 SA Derby nominations.

Posting nine wins and a further three minor places through her 13 career starts so far, Delicacy has found incredible form leading into the 2015 SA Derby and will be tough to beat, particularly if last start jockey Peter Hall is again charged with the ride.

Placing third in the Listed Make Your Own Magic Challenge (1500m) on February 14th, the Al Maher filly is starring down the barrel of a sixth-consecutive black type win in the 2015 SA Derby after taking out each of the Listed Ascot 1000 Guineas (1800m), Listed Natasha Stakes (2200m), Group 3 W.A. Oaks (2400m) and Group 2 WATC Derby (2400m) leading into Saturday’s triumph.

Magicool stamped his claims as one to watch over an impressive spring campaign and has been included in the 2015 SA Derby final field.

Securing three wins and one minor through eleven career starts, the Fastnet Rock gelding won the Listed UCI Stakes (1800m) on October 4th; progressing to commendable fifth place finishes in the Group 3 Caulfield Classic (2000m) and Group 1 Victoria Derby (2500m).

Having won the Beet Bryant Handicap (2000m) most notably over five starts this time; Magicool has been charged with overcoming the outside gate in the 2015 SA Derby but is sure to be boosted by champion jockey Damien Oliver.

Kiwi raider Werther has found great form leading into his Australian racing debut in the SA Derby but will also need luck in running from barrier 18.

Finishing outside the first three only three times through his ten career starts so far, Werther returned this year for a commanding and near-four length win in the Aranui Harvesters Maiden (1400m) but failed to beat a single runner home in the Lindsay Mile (1600m) three weeks later.

Having since won a Waipukurau minor over 1600m, finished second in the Group 3 Manawatu Classic (2000m) and won the Group 2 Championship Stakes (2100m), all signs point towards another commendable performance from the Lord Tavistock gelding this weekend.

Godolphin gelding Allergic is aiming for a third-consecutive win in Saturday’s 2015 SA Derby but undoubtedly faces his biggest task to date in the Group 1 feature race.

Failing to figure when eighth in the Group 2 Alister Clark Stakes (2040m) on March 20th, the Street Cry gelding has clearly taken huge benefit from a brief freshen-up having won a pair of Cranbourne minors over 2000m in recent weeks.

New Zealand raider Gifted Lad (barrier 4), Light Motion (barrier 13), Thermogenic (barrier 15) and Grumpy Guru (barrier 11) have been confirmed as the four 2015 SA Derby emergency runners.

Open an account and deposit at Ladbrokes.com.au today to take advantage of up to $250 in bonuses in time for the SA Derby!

2015 South Australian Derby Final Field and Barrier Draw

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 x386x19121 WERTHER (NZ) Andrew R Campbell Noel Callow 18 56.5kg 84
2 19×2141 OCTOBER DATE Nick Smart Shayne Cahill 2 56.5kg 80
3 2155×84618 MAGICOOL Mark Kavanagh Damien Oliver 20 56.5kg 78
4 292×834313 BOOM TIME Peter G Moody Vlad Duric 9 56.5kg 74
5 2×10061 MANAPINE Nigel Blackiston Dwayne Dunn 6 56.5kg 71
6 34×6312811 ALLERGIC John O’Shea Patrick Moloney (a) 1 56.5kg 71
7 23221×123 CHU CHU CHARLIE Ron Daniel Dean Yendall 10 56.5kg 70
8 35×63132 ALL I SURVEY Pat Carey Rhys McLeod 7 56.5kg 67
9 52x82x1025 TRIPLE GOLD Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 3 56.5kg 66
10 6×51230910 LUCQUES Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 17 56.5kg 66
11 5×6011 CRIMSON CAPE (NZ) Robert Smerdon Mark Zahra 8 56.5kg 66
12 4279×60012 CUBAN FIGHTER Robbie Laing Joe Bowditch 16 56.5kg 65
13 7160×20226 TURBO STREET Tony McEvoy Matthew Neilson 19 56.5kg 65
14 7x5x6242 MAYSOOR Mick Price Dom Tourneur 5 56.5kg 64
15 6×3104 TIME WALKER Phillip Stokes Steven Arnold 12 56.5kg 62
16 15×2311111 DELICACY Grant Williams Peter Hall 14 54.5kg 100
17e 38812013 GIFTED LAD (NZ) Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young Michael Walker 4 56.5kg 65
18e 821×722 LIGHT MOTION Robert Smerdon 13 56.5kg 64
19e 0145×3255 THERMOGENIC Phillip Stokes 15 56.5kg 62
20e 70×7137 GRUMPY GURU Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Clare Lindop 11 56.5kg 62